7th Annual Meeting of the ASCCT

View Program

Recent and upcoming publications of presenters Phil Yeager, Emilia Costin, and Suzanne C. Fitzpatrick

The ESTIV Newsletter, Special Issue: ASCCT 2018: 7th Annual Meeting

The 7th annual ASCCT meeting was held on September 11, 2018 on the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Campus in Bethesda, Maryland. The theme was focused on implementing new approaches to predictive toxicology, and leaders from both government, academia, non-profit organizations, and industry from around the world contributed to a busy, productive day of discussion, networking, and camaraderie. 

Paired plenary sessions provided attendees a window into the interaction between regulatory agencies and the regulated community, invited ASCCT members provided several platform presentations, and a panel led us through a discussion on the importance of public-private partnerships to successful implementation of new approach methodologies. The ASCCT meeting drew an impressive poster session with 32 presentations, our largest one yet!

ASCCT recognized two outstanding young scientists for their work in predictive toxicology. Dr. Sudin Bhattacharya from Michigan State University was awarded the 4th annual Edward Carney Predictive Toxicology Award, an annual award given to recognize excellence in predictive toxicology. Rutgers University Scientist Dan Russo was awarded the 3rd annual Tox21 Student Award, established in 2016 by a longtime ASCCT member and pioneer in toxicology, Ray Tice. And finally the Alternatives Research and Development Foundation awarded Dr. Robert Kavlock with the William and Eleanor Cave Award to honor his achievements in advancing alternatives to the traditional use of animals in testing and research, most notably for his ground-breaking efforts on Tox21 and ToxCast. 

The delightful evening reception and awards ceremony was sponsored by Alternatives Research and Development Foundation. This networking event allowed young scientists to interact with many of the more experienced ASCCT members over an impressive array of enjoyable food and drinks. 

We are grateful for your participation, for the efforts of our speakers, and to the sponsors and program committee for essential support and planning of the meeting. 

We look forward to seeing you again at next year’s meeting. Please contact Secretary Kristie Sullivan to volunteer for the planning committee! 

Thank you to our sponsors

Alternatives Research & Development Foundation