Learn about ASCCT Awards

To support promising science, the ASCCT provides awards at its annual meeting as well as ad hoc travel awards throughout the year to help early-career investigators attend relevant conferences. See below for more information. Contact the Secretary for more information or to suggest a partnership.

The Ed Carney Predictive Toxicology Award recognizes the first author of an outstanding poster or platform presentation that will advance predictive toxicology, and is named after Dr. Ed Carney, a member and supporter of the ASCCT and a leader in the predictive toxicology field. Previous winners include:

  • 2022: Anna van der Zalm, PETA Science Consortium International: A Modern Framework to Establish Scientific Confidence in NAMs
  • 2021: Dr. Kelly Carstens, US EPA ORISE: Analyzing multi-dimensional developmental neurotoxicity new approach methodologies: Computational approaches to identify phenotypes.
  • 2020: Eva Vitucci, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill: Identifying the Molecular Mechanisms of Air Pollution-Induced Thrombosis
  • 2019: Ignacio Tripodi, University of Colorado, Boulder: Toxicological mechanistic inference: Generating mechanistic explanations for adverse outcomes
  • 2018: Sudin Bhattacharya, Michigan State University: Integrating Genomics and Epigenomics Into Predictive Toxicology of the Aryl Hydrocarbon Receptor
  • 2017: Ellen Garcia, Virginia Tech: Characterization of two lung cell lines for use in cell division focused, single-cell toxicity assays
  • 2016: Emma Bowers, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill: Modeling a complex in vivo response in vitro: Exploring heterogeneity and mechanisms associated with ozone adaptation.
  • 2015: Nicole Kleinstreuer, NICEATM: Identifying reference chemicals for androgen receptor activity

The Ray Tice Tox21 Student Award is presented to recognize the best student presentation during the meeting and was established with a generous donation from Dr. Ray Tice, a leader in implementing and setting the stage for Toxicity Testing in the 21st Century. Previous winners include:

  • 2022: Amy Carpenter, US EPA ORISE: Evaluation of the ToxCast Assay Suite for Detection of Neuroactivity
  • 2021: Anouck Thienpont, Vrije Universiteit Brussel: Development of a novel genotoxicity prediction model based on biomarker genes in human HepaRGTM cells
  • 2020: Sherri Bloch, Université de Montréal: Using in Vitro Data to Derive Acceptable Exposure Levels: A Case Study on PBDE Developmental Neurotoxicity
  • 2019: Vy Tran, Johns Hopkins University: Comparing Gene Networks Between MCF-7 and Human Breast Cancer Tissues
  • 2018: Dan Russo, Rutgers University: Developing Mechanism-based Animal Toxicity Models-A Chemocentric Approach Using Big Data
  • 2017: Wenyi Wang, Rutgers University: Mechanistic Evaluation of Chemicals that Induce Oral Acute Toxicity by Mitochondrial Membrane Disruption: Big Data Profiling and Analysis