ASCCT Supports Young Scientists with Awards and Travel Bursaries

One of the main aims of the ASCCT is to support and engage young scientists working in the in vitro and computational toxicology fields. To do this we provide financial awards and travel bursaries to our annual meeting as well as other topical meetings. 

In 2015, in memoriam of Dr. Edward Carney, we established the Edward Carney Predictive Toxicity Award. Dr. Carney was an active and dedicated member of the ASCCT, and a partner, mentor, and friend who inspired many in our fields. The award is $500, and will be awarded to a winning first author presenting at each annual ASCCT meeting, to assist with travel and/or research expenses. The first award winner was Dr. Nicole Kleinstreuer for her poster Identifying Reference Chemicals for Androgen Receptor Activity

2015 Award winner Dr. Nicole Kleinstreuer with ASCCT Officers

In 2016, we were honored to host the wife and brother of the late Dr. Edward Carney to award the 2nd annual Ed Carney Award for Predictive Toxicology, which went to Emma Bowers for her presentation Modeling a complex in vivo response in vitro: Exploring heterogeneity and mechanisms associated with ozone adaptation.

Award winner Emma Bowers and Nancy Carney

After winning the William and Eleanor Cave Award for his career achievements in in vitro toxicology, Dr. Ray Tice established the Tox21 Student Award, which will be given for the next five years. In 2016, the award went to Ellen Garcia for her presentation Single-cell analysis reveals that silver nanoparticle exposure leads to multi-nucleation through defective cell division. The 2016 award winners gave a webinar in January which members can access here [LINK].

Award winner Ellen Garcia and Dr. Ray Tice

Also in 2016, we were able to award $850 to three young scientists presenting at the 17th International Conference on QSAR in Environmental and Health Sciences, which was held June 13-17, 2016 in Miami Beach, FL ( The winners were:

  • Kamel Mansouri, US EPA, “The importance of data curation on QSAR modeling: EPIsuite data as a case study.”
  • David Ebbrell, Liverpool John Moores University, “Development of a fragment-based in silico method for the prediction of chemical reactivity.”
  • Mare Oja, University of Tartu: “Quantitative relationship between skin sensitization and skin extract membrane penetration.”